2021 NBRC Award Winners

This year, we were grateful to be able to meet in person for our fall board meeting. We were thrilled to present four major awards to some of the most well-deserving people we know. These individuals are true leaders and their passion for the respiratory care profession did not go unnoticed.

The Albert H. Andrews, Jr., MD Award – Robert Aranson, MD
Presented to a physician who has distinguished themselves through outstanding service to the respiratory care community.

The Robert H. Miller, RRT Award – Robert L. Joyner, Jr., PhD, RRT, RRT-ACCS, FAARC

Presented to a respiratory therapist or pulmonary function technologist demonstrating outstanding service to the profession and/or the credentialing system.

The Sister Mary Yvonne Jenn, CRNA, RRT Lifetime Achievement Award – Carl F. Haas, MLS, RRT, RRT-ACCS, CPFT, FAARC

The NBRC’s highest honor is presented to an individual whose continuous career accomplishments have significantly impacted the respiratory care community and specifically influenced the profession’s direction or the NBRC’s credentialing system.

The Clifford D. Bryan, RRT, Outstanding Service Award – Katherine L. Fedor, MBA, RRT, RRT-NPS, CPFT, FAARC

The Clifford D. Bryan, RRT Award for Outstanding Service was created by the Board to honor the memory of Clifford D. Bryan, RRT, a clinician, an entrepreneur, a mentor for many and a man of numerous talents who was the Board’s first Executive Secretary. Cliff was instrumental in the early years of the NBRC, establishing its presence in Kansas City and always working behind the scenes to further the profession, as well as the NBRC’s former subsidiary corporation, Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP). Cliff left us too soon when he passed in September 2015 at the age of 74. This award may be presented at the Board’s discretion to an individual who embodies the characteristics that Cliff exemplified during his career particularly working behind the scenes to further the profession through outstanding service.

Board Members Rolling Off

We want to thank six of our extraordinary board members whose terms have ended. We appreciate their time, dedication and expertise in the respiratory care profession and especially to the credentialing system. Their contributions have made a significant impact.

Pictured from left to right: Carl F. Haas, MLS, RRT, RRT-ACCS, CPFT, FAARC; Kerry E. George, MEd, RRT, RRT-ACCS, RRT-SDS, FAARC; Alan L. Plummer, MD, FCCP, FAARC; Teresa A. Volsko, MBA, MHHS, RRT, CMTE, FAARC; Robert A. Balk, MD, FCCP, FAARC; and Robin J. Elwood, MD, FAAP, FASA