2023 NBRC Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2023 NBRC award winners! We enjoyed seeing everyone at the NBRC Reception at AARC’s International Congress and our annual fall Board of Trustees Meeting. Multiple awards were presented at both meetings to extremely talented, compassionate and dedicated individuals who we are lucky to call our colleagues.

The Robert H. Miller, RRT Award – Katherine L. Fedor, MBA, RRT, RRT-NPS, CPFT, FAARC

Presented to a respiratory therapist or pulmonary function technologist demonstrating outstanding service to the profession and/or the credentialing system.

The Sister Mary Yvonne Jenn, CRNA, RRT Lifetime Achievement Award – Robert L. Joyner, Jr., PhD, RRT, RRT-ACCS, FAARC

The NBRC’s highest honor is presented to an individual whose continuous career accomplishments have significantly impacted the respiratory care community and specifically influenced the profession’s direction or the NBRC’s credentialing system.

The Albert H. Andrews, Jr., MD Award – James P. Lamberti, MD, FCCP

Presented to a physician who has distinguished themselves through outstanding service to the respiratory care community.

Clifford D. Bryan, RRT Outstanding Service Award – Scott M. Hermansen, CPA

The Clifford  D.  Bryan,  RRT  Award  for  Outstanding  Service was  created  by  the  Board  to  honor  the  memory  of  Clifford  D.  Bryan,  RRT,  a  clinician,  an  entrepreneur,  a  mentor  for  many  and  a  man  of  numerous talents who was the Board’s first Executive Secretary. Cliff was instrumental in the early years of the NBRC, establishing its presence in Kansas City and always working behind the scenes to further the profession, as well as the NBRC’s former subsidiary corporation, Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP). Cliff left us too soon when he passed in September 2015 at the age of 74. This award may be presented at the Board’s discretion to an individual who embodies the characteristics that Cliff exemplified during his career particularly working behind the scenes to further the profession through outstanding service.

Board Members Rolling Off

A big thank you to four of our exceptional Board members whose terms have ended with us. Excellence defines all of you. We are grateful for your commitment in growing and improving the respiratory care profession. We wish you well in your future endeavors!

Carl D. Mottram, RRT, RPFT, FAARC– Board member 2011-2023

Carl A. Kaplan, MD, FCCP – Board member 2004-2023

Robert A. Sinkin, MD, MPH, FAAP, FATS – Board member 2004-2023

Thomas M. Fuhrman, MD, MMSc, D.ABA, RRT, FCCP, FASA, FAARC – Board member 1999-2011 and 2016-2023

We also want to recognize current and previous NBRC Board members and consultants who were honored and acknowledged this year at AARC’s Congress.

American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) Fellow

AARC Members who have reached a level of distinction in the professional practice of respiratory care.

Amy J. Boeckmann, MPA, BS, RRT, FAARC – Current President

Legends of Respiratory Care

The designation as a Legend of Respiratory Care is an honor bestowed upon an individual who significantly impacted and changed the respiratory care profession.

Robert A. Balk, MD, FCCP, and Kerry E. George, RRT, MEd, FAARC – Former Board Members

Clinical Preceptor

The AARC recognizes that quality respiratory care education cannot exist without high-quality clinical preceptors. Every year, the AARC Education Section recognizes individuals as clinical preceptors to acknowledge their contribution to student learning.

Renee D. Bergtold, MSRA, RRT, RPFT – Current Consultant

ARCF’s Thomas L. Petty, MD Award for Excellence in Home Respiratory Care

The award recognizes outstanding individual achievement in home respiratory care.

Sherry Barnhart, RRT, RRT-NPS, AE-C, FAARC – Former Board Member

AARC’s 2023 Specialty Practitioner of the Year Awards – Sleep

This award recognizes outstanding individuals from various respiratory care specialties in the U.S.

Hayfa Shakkour-Perez, RRT, RRT-NPS, RRT-SDS – Current Consultant