2021 RC Scholarships & Awards

In our continuing efforts to promote and move the respiratory care profession forward, we are proud to contribute to respiratory care scholarships and awards totaling almost $27,000.

Presented by The Lambda Beta Society and The American Respiratory Care Foundation (ARCF) at the annual American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) International Congress, these awards support students’ and practitioners’ educational journeys.

Lambda Beta Society Scholarships and Awards

Apply by May 31, 2021

Any student currently enrolled in a respiratory care program at a Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC) accredited school may apply. These awards also include $750 in travel expenses and full registration to this year’s AARC International Congress.  Candidates must meet application requirements.

Frederic Helmholz, MD Scholarship – Up to $2,500

Presented on the merit of an independent, original narrative review of literature related to respiratory care practice.

CoARC Stephen P. Mikles, EdD, RRT, FAARC Media Award – $2,000

Presented on the merit of an original presentation relevant to respiratory care. Acceptable formats include PowerPoint or other digital presentation platforms, video presentations, or a CDROM/DVDROM.

NBRC/Hill Leadership Award – Up to $2,000

Presented to a student who has shown exemplary leadership in their educational career and volunteer and community service.

Visit lambdabeta.org for award rubrics, checklists, and applications.

American Respiratory Care Foundation Awards

Apply by June 1, 2021

ARCF offers many award opportunities. The following are awards endowed by the NBRC. In addition to any cash award and recognition certificate, these awards also include airfare, lodging, and registration for AARC Congress.

Frederic Helmholz, MD Educational Research Fund – Up to $5,000

Awarded to qualified investigators in the field of respiratory care for educational or credentialing research.

NBRC Gareth B. Gish, MS, RRT, Memorial Postgraduate Education Recognition Award – Up to $5,000

Presented to a respiratory therapist pursuing postgraduate education leading to an advanced degree.

NBRC William W. Burgin, JR., MD & Robert M. Lawrence, MD Education Recognition Award – Up to $7,500

Presented to a third or fourth-year student enrolled in an accredited respiratory therapy program leading to a baccalaureate degree.

NBRC Gary A. Smith Educational Award for Innovation in Education – $2,500

Presented to an individual who uses innovative educational methods in formal respiratory care education programs, clinical education training programs, and patient education programs that address current challenges in respiratory care education.

Visit arcfoundation.org for more information and applications.