2020 NBRC Award Winners

One of our year’s highlights is recognizing outstanding individuals who have made a significant impact on the respiratory care profession, and this year is no exception. Pivoting from in-person ceremonies to a virtual celebration, NBRC officially presented these awards to honor these very worthy recipients on December 2, 2020.

The Albert H. Andrews, Jr., MD Award

Presented to a physician who has distinguished themselves through outstanding service to the respiratory care community.

Robin J. Elwood, MD, FAAP, FASA

The Robert H. Miller, RRT Award

Presented to a respiratory therapist or pulmonary function technologist demonstrating outstanding service to the profession and/or the credentialing system.

Susan B. Blonshine, BS, RRT, RPFT, AE-C, FAARC

The Sister Mary Yvonne Jenn, CRNA, RRT Lifetime Achievement Award

The NBRC’s highest honor is presented to an individual whose continuous career accomplishments have significantly impacted the respiratory care community and specifically influenced the profession’s direction or the NBRC’s credentialing system.


We also want to take this opportunity to recognize multiple NBRC Trustees who were honored and acknowledged this year by the American Association of Respiratory Care and the American College of Chest Physicians.

American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) Jimmy A. Young Medal

The Jimmy A. Young Medal recognizes individuals who have made lasting and sustained contributions to the profession of respiratory care and the AARC. It is the highest honor bestowed by the AARC and named in honor of AARC President Jimmy A. Young, who died in 1975 after serving the organization for many years.

Teresa A. Volsko, MBA, MHHS, RRT, CMTE, FAARC

American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST) Hall of Heroes

The Hall of Heroes honors nurses, respiratory therapists, and physicians who have gone above and beyond their duties during the COVID-19 pandemic. Nominated by their peers, the hall serves as an opportunity to recognize and thank these extraordinary individuals for their commitment and dedication to their patients, along with their resiliency during unprecedented times.

Carl A. Kaplan, MD, FCCP

American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST) Distinguished Chest Educators (DCE)

The Distinguished CHEST Educators (DCE) recognizes the achievements of members who have made significant and long-term contributions to the design and delivery of CHEST education.

Brian W. Carlin, MD, FCCP, FAARC

Thomas M. Fuhrman, MD, MMSc, FCCP, FASA, FAARC

Carl A. Kaplan, MD, FCCP

American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) Fellows

AARC Members who have reached a level of distinction in the professional practice of respiratory care.

Katherine L. Fedor, MBA, RRT, RRT-NPS, CPFT, FAARC

Thomas M. Fuhrman, MD, MMSc, FCCP, FASA, FAARC

Congratulations to all for being recognized for your outstanding achievements! Excellence truly defines each one of you. Thank you for the dedication you have shown to the respiratory care community and the NBRC.