Apply Now!

Scholarships and Awards

The current global health crisis has highlighted the need for more respiratory therapists. In our continuing efforts to promote and move the respiratory care profession forward, the NBRC is proud to fund scholarships and awards presented by the Lambda Beta Society and the American Respiratory Care Foundation.

Presented each year at the American Association for Respiratory Care International Congress, each of these awards has its own application process and set of criteria.

Lambda Beta Society – Application Deadline June 30, 2020

H. Frederic Helmholz, MD Scholarship – This scholarship is presented on the merit of an original narrative review of the literature related to the practice of respiratory care.

CoARC Stephen P. Mikles, EdD, RRT, FAARC Media Award – This award is presented on the merits of an original, independent media presentation relevant to respiratory care.

NBRC/Hill Leadership Award – This award is presented to a student who has shown exemplary leadership in their educational career as well as volunteer and community service.

American Respiratory Care Foundation – Application Deadline Extended to June 15, 2020

NBRC Frederic Helmholz, Jr., MD Educational Research Fund – This NBRC endowment supports educational or credentialing research.

NBRC Gareth B. Gish, MS, RRT Memorial Postgraduate Education Recognition Award – This award is presented to a respiratory therapist pursuing postgraduate education leading to an advanced degree.

NBRC Gary A. Smith Educational Award for Innovation in Education – This award is presented to recognize innovative education methods that address current challenges in respiratory care
education programs.

NBRC William W. Burgin, JR., MD and Robert M. Lawrence, MD Education Recognition Award – This award is presented to a third or fourth-year student enrolled in an accredited respiratory therapy program leading to a Baccalaureate degree.

To learn more and download applications, visit or